Preview: Eurovision Song Contest 2014 First Semi-Final

The Eurovision Song Contest enters its endgame with the first of two semi-finals Tuesday. In a few hours, we will know which ten entrants will advance to Saturday’s final.

It begins! Sixteen countries will enter today’s Eurovision Song Contest semi-final, but only ten will move on to Saturday’s Grand Final. Here is the running order for today’s festivities:

Eurovision Song Contest 2017 First Semi-Final

1SwedenRobin BengtssonI Can't Go On1241032273
2GeorgiaTamara GachechiladzeKeep the Faith62379911 (-16)
3AustraliaIsaiah FirebraceDon't Come Easy139211606
4AlbaniaLindita HalimiWorld38387614 (-39)
5BelgiumBlancheCity Lights401251654
6MontenegroSlavko KalezićSpace17395616 (-59)
7FinlandNorma JohnBlackbird41519212 (-23)
9PortugalSalvador SobralAmar pelos dois1731973701
10GreeceDemyThis is Love615411510
11PolandKasia MośFlashlight50691199
12MoldovaSunStroke ProjectHey Mamma1111802912
13IcelandSvalaPaper29316015 (-55)
14Czech RepublicMartina BártaMy Turn8128313 (-32)
16ArmeniaArtsvikFly with Me87651527
17SloveniaOmar NaberOn My Way16203617 (-79)
18LatviaTriāna ParkLine1202118 (-94)
These 18 countries competed in the first semi-final of the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest on Tuesday, May 9. Italy, Spain, and the United Kingdom also voted during this semi-final to determine the 10 countries that advanced to the Grand Final on Saturday, May 13.


The big question: which 10 entries will advance? During our review process, Ben and I have engaged in ranking each semi-finals entrants. Along with these rankings, we have kept track of how bookmakers have ranked the entries, how the press covering Eurovision in Copenhagen are ranking the entries, and YouTube views of the second round of rehearsals. After tabulating these results, we have ranked the entries according to their total points and the Top 10 are our predictions for who will advance.


We believe the following acts (in alphabetical order) will advance to Saturday’s final:

  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Belgium
  • Estonia
  • Hungary
  • Montenegro*
  • Netherlands
  • Russia
  • Sweden
  • Ukraine

*After our tabulation, Montenegro and Iceland were tied. In the five categories where we generated scores, Montenegro received higher marks than Iceland in four of them.1

The semi-final will take place at 9 p.m. CET, which is 3 p.m. Eastern and 12 p.m. Pacific. You can watch live at We will have a rundown following the results and press conference. SO EXCITING!

  1. Sorry Ben.  

A Word from Google Ads