This Week in Eurovision: Latvia, United Kingdom, and Finland

This week in Eurovision: Latvia's Supernova begins while the UK and Finland make their choices.

Justs represented Latvia in the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest in Stockholm, Sweden. (Photo: F64, via Supernova) Justs represented Latvia in the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest in Stockholm, Sweden. (Photo: F64, via Supernova)

Supernova

Sunday will feature the first installment of Latvia’s Eurovision Song Contest selection series Supernova. This week’s episode will be the first of two backstage and audition episodes. 22 acts will take part in this year’s competition in the hopes of keeping Latvia’s recent streak of success alive. You can watch the LTV livestream at 20.25 CET / 2:25pm Eastern.

Eurovision: You Decide

The United Kingdom will be the first of the Big 5 to choose their Eurovision act. On Monday, we will find out the six acts that will compete for the ticket to Kyiv. BBC Radio 2’s Ken Bruce Show will start the announcement at 10.30 CET / 5:30 Eastern.

Then on Friday, those six acts will perform on Eurovision: You Decide. This year will feature a panel of three judges as well as an audience vote to determine the winner. The judges will be Bruno Tonioli from Dancing with the Stars, singer Sophie Ellis-Bextor, and reality competition consultant CeCe Sammy. The show will air on BBC 2 at 20.30 CET / 2:30pm Eastern.

UMK

Finally, Finland will make its Eurovision selection with Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu on Saturday. This will be the sixth time Finland has used the format to select its representative. The event will be hosted by Krista Siegfrids, who won in 2013 and will be competing in Sweden’s Melodifestivalen next month. The show airs at 19.00 CET / 1pm Eastern.

A Word from Google Ads